

2522 Marshall Street NE Minneapolis, Minnesota 55418-3329

612-746-4970 contacts@mwmo.org

mwmo.org



MEETING MINUTES

Date: 14 March 2022

Time: 4:00-6:00 PM

Location: 2522 Marshall Street NE, Minneapolis, MN 55418

Commissioners in Attendance

Steve Eggert, Fridley; Jeffrey Dains, Lauderdale; LaTrisha Vetaw, Minneapolis; and Billy Menz, MPRB.

Staff and Guests: Alicia Beattie, Nick Busse, Brian Jastram, Dan Kalmon, Udai Singh, Nancy Stowe, and Kevin Reich, MWMO; Glenda Meixell, Anoka Conservation District; Betsy Brock, Minneapolis; and Amy Juntunen, JASS.

The meeting was called to order at 4:19 p.m. by Vice Chair Eggert.

Vetaw was introduced as the newly appointed Commissioner to the MWMO for Minneapolis.

Approval of Agenda and Minutes

Motion by Dains, second by Vetaw to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Dains, second by Menz to approve the January 11, 2022 minutes as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Consent Agenda

None.

Reports from Staff

A broad overview of the MWMO mission, staff members, programs and purpose was provided for new members. Staff members discussed their roles within MWMO.

General Business

Resolution 2022-011: 10 Year Plan Barr Engineering Agreement Extension. At the July 2020 meeting of the MWMO Board of Commissioners an agreement with Barr Engineering was approved to create a number of resources for the 10-year Plan update including two web-based tools to aid member cities and developers to comply with the MWMO stormwater standards and new city ordinances. This tool was to be completed after final approval and posting of the updated Plan. The Board approved the Plan at the January 2022 meeting. This is a request to extend the Agreement end date to July 15, 2022. There are no additional costs involved.

Motion by Dains, second by Menz to approve Resolution 2022-011 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Resolution 2022-012: Upper Harbor Terminal 30% Design and Engagement Agreement Extension. The MWMO has been participating in this project since 2015 with a goal of establishing district and regional stormwater systems to improve water quality and habitat in the area. In April 2019 the Board approved a professional services agreement with Barr Engineering for the 30% design and community engagement. Because engagement could not begin until the design was at least partially complete, this is a request to extend the agreement through September 6, 2022. There are no additional costs involved.

Motion by Vetaw, second by Dains to approve Resolution 2022-012 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Resolution 2022-013: Stewardship Fund 2022 Action Grants. There are three types of Stewardship Fund grants: Community grants of up to \$5,000 are offered twice annually for small scale or short-term projects or programs. Planning grants up to \$20,000 are awarded annually to help organizations plan and prepare for a project that helps improve water quality through construction, education or outreach. Action grants of up to \$50,000 are also awarded annually to fund the implementation of a project and require a 25% match. Staff and the Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC) have reviewed and are recommending approval of five Action Grants for 2022. The applicants are 1) African Development Center Stormwater Capture and Infiltration, \$50,000; 2) FamilyWise Innovative Stormwater Management Plan, \$15,200; 3) First Lutheran Parking Lot/Raingarden, \$50,000; 4) Mercado Central Stormwater System, \$50,000; and 5) Friends of the Mississippi River (FMR) Water Knowledge Network, \$14,476.16. The five grants total \$179,676.16 and is budgeted as part of the Stewardship Fund in FY 2022.

Grantees are encouraged to participate in MWMO trainings including salt management and turf management workshops.

Motion by Vetaw, second by Dains to approve Resolution 2022-013 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Resolution 2022-014: Election of MWMO Officers. Eggert volunteered to serve as Chair, Randy Stille as Vice Chair, and Vetaw volunteered to serve as Treasurer. There being no further nominations, motion by Dains, second by Menz to approve the officers as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Open Public Input

None.

Board Updates and Announcements

Reich recommended an informal "get to know you" gathering of Commissioners. Reich and Eggert will set up a date and publish a meeting notice to comply with open meeting law, though no formal business will be conducted.

The next meeting is scheduled for May 10, 2022. The meeting will be held in-person at MWMO.

Adjourn

There being no further business, motion by Dains, second by Vetaw to adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at 5:21 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy Juntunen Recording Secretary

Record of Motions

Motion by Dains, second by Menz to approve Resolution 2022-011 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Vetaw, second by Dains to approve Resolution 2022-012 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Vetaw, second by Dains to approve Resolution 2022-013 as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Dains, second by Menz to approve Resoltion 2022-014 selecting Eggert as Chair, Stille as Vice-Chair, and Vetaw as Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.